Missouri Art Education Association...Meaningful Art Experiences for All


Nominations for MAEA Council

To contact a council member, click on their name, or hover over/right click their name to see their email address. To get to a council member's blog, click on their picture.


Click to access the following organizational documents:

MAEA Constitution
MAEA Bylaws
MAEA Policies
Conflict of Interest Policy
Council Job Descriptions
Consent to Serve Form

Council Meeting Minutes
Summer 2012
Fall 2012
Winter 2013
Spring 2013


President: Connie Shoemaker
President-Elect: Shannon Engelbrecht
Immediate Past-President: Vicki Bean
Treasurer: Diana Mahoney
Secretary: Melanie Robinson


Elementary: Jessica Jones
Middle School: Jim Peters
Secondary: Kim Foster

K-12: Angie Myers

Higher Education: Karen Cummings
Museum: Vicki Weaver
Supervision/Administration: Susan Bowles



  • JOIN

The Missouri Art Education Association is Affiliated with the National Art Education Association. Therefore, membership in MAEA includes membership to the national organization. Visit their website for links to art education resources and advocacy, as well as national conference information. Click here to join online. If you prefer to join via regular mail, print our downloadable application or contact Linda Bowers, membership chair.

MAEAArtBytes is a listserve designed to keep Missouri art teachers in touch with what is going on in the state organization as well as information from across the state. If you would like to receive emails from ArtBytes, please enter your email address below.

Subscribe to MAEAArtBytes

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com

The #1 Professional Development Opportunity for Missouri's Art Teachers!

The Missouri Art Education Association (MAEA) works closely with Missouri's Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to ensure that MAEA conferences provide substantive connections to state expectations for student learning in art and across all subjects. MAEA holds two conferences each year. The Fall Conference is held at Knob Noster State Park in early October. The Spring Conference is held at rotating locations around the state each March. Come join us for exceptional professional development opportunities.


Don't know what district you teach in? Click here for a map.

District 1: Andrea Aeschliman & Carrie Campbell
District 2: Laura Halter & Elizabeth Halter
District 3: Terri Kay Willet
District 4: Janet Bryan
District 5: Debra Straatmann
District 6: Sheryl Lamme
District 7: Keeli Singer
District 8: Hester Menier
District 9: Amber Mitnert
District 10: Cathy Russsell
District 11: Sharon Williams



Advocacy Chair: Vicki Bean
Membership & Registration: Linda Bowers
Registration Assistant: Mary Tevlin
Student/First Year: Susan Elson & Ivan Ramirez
Retired Art Educators: Suzanne Walker
Photographer/Technology: Ron Jennings
Vendor Liason: Janice Januzzi-Thomas
Conference Scheduling: Rebecca Moppin
Youth Art Month: Lori Bockting, Cheri Riley, Stephanie Mennemeyer
Special Projects: Terri Willet
ShowMe ART Editors: Rick Peterson, Tina Hyde
Awards: Leesha Dunkeson
National Board/Curriculum: Holley Smothers
Web Editor: Rahila Weed
ArtyBytes Moderator: Kim Foster
Student Show: Ann Kynion, Cyndi Shepard
Member Show: Janet Bryan
Silent Auction: Angie Myers

MAEA Elections occur during even years. To nominate someone for an office on council, fill out the MAEA Election form.


Legal & Accounting Services

The Missouri Art Education Association is represented by the VLAA of St. Louis.